Public Document Pack

County Council Wednesday 25 May 2022 10.00 am Hollinsworth Hall, The Canalside Conference Centre, Marsh Lane, Huntworth, Somerset, TA6 6LQ



SUPPLEMENT TO THE AGENDA

To: The Members of the County Council

Agenda item 7

Please find enclosed the updated County Returning Officers Report.

Published on 07 June 2022

Democratic Services, A Block, County Hall, Taunton, TA1 4DY



Report of the Returning Officer - Return of Councillors elected

Lead Officers: Patrick Flaherty – Chief Executive and County Returning Officer and Scott Wooldridge Deputy County Returning Officer

Author: Mike Bryant – Service Manager, Democratic Services & Pippa Triffitt – Business

Support, Democratic Services

Contact Details: democraticservices@somerset.gov.uk

1. Summary / Background

1.1 The purpose of this report is to inform the County Council of the persons elected as Members (also known as Councillors) of Somerset County Council at elections held on 5 May 2022.

For the first time in Somerset County Council's history, the election saw 110 Councillors elected to 55 two member divisions. This was in accordance with the Somerset Structural Changes Order 2022 as part of the transition to the new Somerset Council. For their first year in office, elected members will be responsible for all Somerset County Council services before making the transition to become unitary members when the new Somerset Council comes into being on 1 April 2023.

Extensive planning and preparation for the elections was undertaken across the five councils over several months. Verification took place following the close of polls, with counts commencing at 10am on 6 May 2022. The Counts were undertaken at four venues across the County in Bridgwater, Shepton Mallet, Taunton and Yeovil.

The four district councils undertook the verification and counts for the City, Town and Parish Council elections that were also held on 5 May with results announced on 6 and 7 May.

- **1.2** Some key statistics from the election include:
 - The Somerset electorate is 434,652.
 - The overall election turnout was 37% this can be broken down by each voting area as follows:
 - Mendip 39%
 - Sedgemoor 30%
 - Somerset West and Taunton 39%
 - South Somerset 38%
 - 80,923 postal votes were issued.
 - 477 polling stations were used on election day.
 - 1995 people were involved in administering the polling stations on 5 May and the four voting area counts on 6 May.

2. Members Elected

2.1 The following persons were elected to the Council:

DISTRICT	DIVISION	ELECTORATE	% TURNOUT	COUNCILLORS	PARTY
	Bishops Hull & Taunton	7928	43.2	Caroline Ellis	Liberal Democrat
	West			John Hunt	Independent
				Ross Henley	Liberal
	Blackdown	8598	40.9		Democrat
	& Neroche			Sarah Wakefield	Liberal Democrat
	Comeytrowe	7908	46.3	Habib Farbahi	Liberal Democrat
	& Trull			Dawn Johnson	Liberal Democrat
	Dulverton &	6726	48.5	Frances Nicholson	Conservative
	Exmoor			Steven Pugsley	Conservative
				Marcus Kravis	Liberal
	Dunster	7097	39.5		Democrat
				Christine Lawrence	Conservative
				Mike Rigby	Liberal
		8162	27.6	Trince ragey	Democrat
	Lydeard		37.6	Andy Sully	Liberal Democrat
Somerset	Minehead	7033	39.6	Mandy Chilcott	Conservative
West &				Andy Hadley	Conservative
Taunton	Monkton & North Curry	9658	20.2	Norman Cavill	Conservative
			39.3	David Fothergill	Conservative
	Rowbarton & Staplegrove	7399	35.8	Dixie Darch	Liberal
					Democrat
				Derek Perry	Liberal
				Simon Coles	Democrat Liberal
	Taunton East	8008	26.5	Simon coles	Democrat
				Federica Smith-	Liberal
				Roberts	Democrat
	Taunton North	7628	31.3	Lee Baker	Liberal
					Democrat
				Tom Deakin	Liberal Democrat
	Taunton South	8335	33.9	Hazel Prior-	Liberal
				Sankey	Democrat
				Fran Smith	Liberal Democrat
	Upper Tone	7625	44.6	Dave Mansell	Green
				Gwil Wren	Independent
	Watchet & Stogursey	7736	39	Hugh Davies	Independent
				Rosemary Woods	Conservative

) A / II'	0712	27	Marcus Barr	Conservative
	Wellington	9712	37	Andrew Govier	Labour
		7966	37.7	Bob Filmer	Conservative
	Brent			Tony Grimes	Conservative
	Bridgwater			Andy Dingwall	Conservative
	East &	9083	26.6	Diogo	
	Bawdrip			Rodrigues	Conservative
	Bridgwater	6973	18.2	Hilary Bruce	Labour
	North & Central			Leigh Redman	Labour
	Bridgwater	7743	20.1	Kathryn Pearce	Labour
	South			Brian Smedley	Labour
	Bridgwater	7930	26.4	Lance Duddridge	Conservative
	West			Gill Slocombe	Conservative
	Purnham on	8010	36.7	Peter Clayton	Conservative
	Burnham on Sea North			Mike Murphy	Liberal
					Democrat
Sedgemoor	Cannington	7400	39.1	Brian Bolt	Conservative
	3.1			Mike Caswell	Conservative
				Pauline Ham	Liberal
	Cheddar	7202	39.8	Ben Ferguson	Democrat Liberal
				Ben Ferguson	Democrat
	Highbridge & Burnham South	7477	27.3	John Cook-	
				Woodman	Conservative
				Alistair Hendry	Conservative
	Huntspill	7735	32	Suria Aujla	Conservative
				Mark Healey	Conservative
	Kind Alfred	8127		Matthew Martin	Liberal
			45	Hama Marat	Democrat
				Harry Munt	Liberal Democrat
	North Petherton	7468	34.6	Alan Bradford	Conservative
				Bill Revans	Liberal
					Democrat
	Frome East	9283	34.3	William Collins	Green
				Helen Kay	Green
	Frome North	7447	43.7	Adam Boyden	Liberal
					Democrat
Mendip				Dawn Denton	Conservative
	Frome West	8161	38.5	Martin Dimery	Green
				Michael Dunk	Green
	Glastonbury	7227	41	Nick Cottle	Liberal
				Susannah Hart	Democrat Conservative
	Mendip Central & East	7427		Barry Clarke	Conservative
			40.8	Philip Ham	Conservative
					Conservative
	Mendip Hills	7830	38.3	Edric Hobbs	Liberal
		, 555	20.3		Democrat

	l l			Tanu Dabbina	Liberal
				Tony Robbins	Liberal
				CI : C II	Democrat
	N.4 1:			Claire Sully	Liberal
	Mendip	7771	44	A1	Democrat
	South			Alex Wiltshire	Liberal
					Democrat
		8101	44.1	Heather	Liberal
	Mendip			Shearer	Democrat
	West			Ros Wyke	Liberal
					Democrat
	Shepton Mallet	8331	32.4	Bente Height	Conservative
				Martin Lovell	Liberal
					Democrat
	Street	9054	33.7	Liz Leyshon	Liberal
					Democrat
	Street			Simon Carswell	Liberal
					Democrat
				Tessa Munt	Liberal
	Wells	8860	43.8		Democrat
	VVCIIS	0000	45.0	Theo Butt Philip	Liberal
					Democrat
	Blackmoor Vale			Nicola Clark	Liberal
		7338	43.6		Democrat
		7336	45.0	Sarah Dyke	Liberal
					Democrat
	Brympton	6943		Peter Seib	Liberal
			28.6		Democrat
				Jeny Snell	Liberal
					Democrat
	Castle Cary	8038	41.4	Henry	Liberal
				Hobhouse	Democrat
				Mike Lewis	Conservative
	Chard North	8042	36.4	Martin Wale	Conservative
				Jenny Kenton	Liberal
				Tomay nomes.	Democrat
				Jason Baker	Liberal
	Chard South	6657	41.5	Justin Build.	Democrat
South				Connor Payne	Conservative
Somerset				Mike Best	Liberal
	Crewkerne	7091	48.1	WINC DCSC	Democrat
				Steve Ashton	
					Conservative
	Curry Rivel & Langport	8735		Mike Stanton	Liberal Democrat
			31.9	Richard Wilkins	Liberal
				INICHATU VVIIKITIS	Democrat
	Coker	7533	38.1	Mike Hewitson	Liberal
				Mike Hewitson	Democrat
				Oliver Patrick	Liberal
				Oliver Fatrick	Democrat
	Ilminster	8331	48.2	Val Keitch	Liberal
				vai Neilli	Democrat
				Sue Osborne	
					Conservative
	Martock	8442	38.6	John Bailey	Liberal
					Democrat

				Emily	Liberal
				Pearlstone	Democrat
	Somerton	8324	39	Tim Kerley	Liberal
					Democrat
				Dean Ruddle	Liberal
					Democrat
	South Petherton & Islemoor	8531	44.3	Adam Dance	Liberal
					Democrat
				Jo Roundell-	Liberal
				Greene	Democrat
	Wincanton & Bruton	8746	45.4	Tom Power	Conservative
				Lucy Trimnell	Conservative
	Yeovil Central	7281	47	Andy Kendall	Liberal
					Democrat
				Dave Woan	Liberal
					Democrat
	Yeovil East	8115	25.4	Tony Lock	Liberal
					Democrat
				Graham Oakes	Liberal
					Democrat
	Yeovil South	7885	26.4	Faye Purbrick	Conservative
				Andy Soughton	Liberal
					Democrat
	Yeovil West	6436	37	Evie Potts-	Liberal
				Jones	Democrat
				Wes Read	Liberal
					Democrat

